New Jersey Paid Sick Leave Act
How well do you know the New Jersey Paid Sick Leave Act? On April 12th, the New Jersey State Senate passed the Act which requires businesses of all sizes to provide up to 40 hours of paid sick leave a year to employees. The bill is expected to be signed into law shortly and will take effect 180 days after it is signed.
Leave reasons covered include:
- Time needed for diagnosis, care, or treatment of, or recovery from, an employee’s mental or physical illness, injury or other adverse health condition, or for preventive medical care for the employee
- Time needed for the employee to aid or care for a family member of the employee during diagnosis, care, or treatment of, or recovery from, the family member’s mental or physical illness, injury or other adverse health condition, or during preventive medical care for the family member
- Absence necessary due to circumstances resulting from the employee, or a family member of the employee, being a victim of domestic or sexual violence, if the leave is to allow the employee to obtain for the employee or the family member.
- Time needed when the workplace, school or childcare closes due to a public health concern.
- Time needed to attend a school-related conference or meeting
Accrual of Paid Sick Leave Time
Under the act, businesses must establish a benefit year of 12 consecutive months. This benefit year cannot be altered without providing notice to the Commissioner of Labor and Workforce Development. Note, for every 30 hours worked during the benefit year, the employee gains one hour of paid sick leave time.
While sick leave begins to accrue on an employee’s first day of employment, they can only start using this Paid Sick Leave Time 120 days after their start date.
Click here to learn about other leave reasons that are covered under the Act.